(Download PDF)

To: Astrophysics and Exoplanetary Science Community
From: Astrophysics Division of NASA’s Science Mission Directorate, NASA Headquarters
Date: January 28, 2015
Subject: Call for Nominations to the Executive Committee of the Exoplanet Exploration Program Analysis Group (ExoPAG)

Dear Colleagues:

The Astrophysics Division of NASA’s Science Mission Directorate is pleased to issue this open call for nominations to serve on the Executive Committee (EC) of NASA’s Exoplanet Exploration Program Analysis Group (the ExoPAG EC). In the coming months, NASA anticipates making three new appointments to the ExoPAG EC, to replace current members Dave Latham, Jonathan Fortney, and Remi Soummer who have completed their term of service on the Committee. New appointments will be for a period of 3 years.

The ExoPAG is an open, interdisciplinary forum that provides a conduit for community input into NASA’s Exoplanet Exploration Program (ExEP), and for conducting analyses in support of ExEP science objectives and their implications for planning and prioritization of Program activities. The ExoPAG is led by a Chairperson drawn from the membership of the Astrophysics Subcommittee, and an Executive Committee, whose membership is chosen to reflect the broad range of scientific disciplines and interests represented in the field of exoplanet exploration. Together, the ExoPAG Chair and Executive Committee are responsible for capturing and organizing community input, overseeing ExoPAG analyses, reporting ExoPAG findings and inputs to the Astrophysics Subcommittee, and keeping the scientific community apprised of ongoing activities and opportunities within NASA’s ExEP. Detailed information about the structure and function of the ExoPAG, as well as the current and past membership of the ExoPAG EC, can be found on the Web at http://exep.jpl.nasa.gov/exopag

Nominations for the ExoPAG EC should be submitted via email to the address: Martin.Still@nasa.gov. Nominations must include both a cover letter and a one-page CV summarizing the nominee’s relevant background. The cover letter should provide a description of the nominee’s area of expertise and qualifications for service on the ExoPAG Executive Committee. Self-nominations are welcome and nominations of early-career scientists are especially encouraged. The deadline for receipt of nominations is 6 March 2015, with announcement of selections anticipated in April 2015.

We look forward to working with all of our stakeholders to develop a robust and compelling Exoplanet Exploration Program.


Martin Still, NASA Headquarters
Exoplanet Exploration Deputy Program Scientist
ExoPAG Executive Secretary